New Jersey Stage
New Jersey Stage on social media


Tune into Radio Jersey with Lee Mrowicki every Monday through Friday from 6pm to 8pm
Broadcast on Asbury Music!

REVIEW: Local Legends Return To The Saint

By Gary Wien


(ASBURY PARK, NJ -- SEPTEMBER 28, 2012) -- On nights like this, I realize just how lucky we are along the Jersey Shore to have a place like The Saint -- a bar that on certain magical nights resembles "Cheers" with live music. On Friday, September 28, we had one of those nights. Three artists who all stamped their mark into the local music scene shared a bill with one of the area's fastest rising stars. It was one of those rare nights that felt like a homecoming with hardly a barrier at all between the performers and the members of the audience. People sang along, joked with the performers, and turned the club into a large living room. We were all friends on this night and those are always the very best and most special shows.

Lee Mrowicki once described the Jersey Shore as a musical island of sorts. While a few of our artists like Springsteen and Bon Jovi become popular throughout the world, the majority are stars only within the area. I think that's still true today. We don't really care what the outside world feels, we believe in the talent of our local scene regardless of whether or not they have hits nationally. Local music fans who follow the scene know these songs by heart. It was that kind of crowd that showed up at the Saint this evening.

The night began with Emily Grove, an artist who has gone from playing coffee houses as a teenager to being on many of the biggest stages in the area. Playing a set full of songs from her wonderful EP, "Way Across The Sea" as well as a few newer songs, Grove showed why she's in such demand by fellow musicians. Her beautiful voice was in pure command on The Saint's stage. Feeling at ease among friends, she spoke between songs much more than in the past. She revealed how she was a loner in high school, a book nerd sitting off to the side. Somehow I find it a bit hard to believe that people didn't take to her then, but they certainly are now. Maybe she's making up for lost time.

Rick Barry followed with a somewhat similar set to the one I criticized a month ago in Red Bank. The difference tonight was clear. While his soft, introspective tunes sounded out of place on a large outdoor stage, they sounded perfectly at home on this stage. It's amazing how a venue can make all the difference in the world, but it does. A month ago, Rick seemed extremely uncomfortable in front of the audience. While he still showed a touch of discomfort tonight, he was still able to talk to the audience in between songs. He even joked at his lack of stage banter expertise. "I'm more of a listener," he explained. Fighting through a setlist planned out by his fiancee (whom he kept referring to as his 'assistant') he avoided a song by Justin Bieber put on the list as a joke, and mixed some of his newer work with highlights of his from the last few years.

Val Emmich, who recently released his latest disc entitled "Bulldozzzer" was up next. Starting off with songs from the new release, Val pointed out how his new record doesn't actually exist in a physical form; it's only available as a download (or as he put it "in the ether"). The release features Val's music in a beautifully simple and stripped down fashion. Available at http://valemmich.bandcamp.com/ for whatever price the user wishes -- even for free. In my opinion, it's worth throwing a few dollars Val's way simply for the brilliant closing number, "Audience" which was one of the tunes played by Val tonight.

After running through about half of the new release, Val switched gears and gave the audience something of a "Best Of" presentation. Running through classic fan favorites like "Get On With It", "Decadent Decline", and "Absolutely Still" Val was on top of his game. Listening to a solo performance of "Absolutely Still" made me realize just how amazing Val's songwriting really is. He's one of the few artists who can play a song solo, yet still have me hear the drums pounding behind him in my mind.

Brought back for an encore, Val pulled out "High Noon" but shook things up a bit by stepping away from the microphone and unplugging his guitar. Stepping to the edge of the stage, he played acoustically and sang without any amplification while members of the audience sang along. It was one of those "Cheers-like" moments at The Saint that I'll always remember. Thankfully, I was actually at the side of the stage at the time and managed to capture the moment on video.

The reunion of Secret Sound kept the night going. The band was one of the most popular acts in Central Jersey from New Brunswick on down to the Jersey Shore in the first half of the last decade. Featuring Kevin Hildebrandt, James Dalton (aka JPAT), Eric Safka, Dave Ferraro, and Adam Alexander, the band sounded as if they hadn't missed a beat. I remember seeing them several times at places like the Saint and the Downtown in Red Bank, but it had been so many years I honestly couldn't remember much. Once they began playing, it all came back to me though. At the time, there was a huge jam band scene in the state. Secret Sound was part of that scene, but unlike the majority of bands who took after the mellow songs of the Dead, Secret Sound was like the raucous, boisterous, little brother who demanded your attention. They didn't just sing, they howled. Their music didn't mellow you out, it made you want to dance -- they put the jam in jam band. Hopefully, they'll play additional shows because they sounded so tight it would be a shame if this was just a one-off reunion.

As someone who has seen James Dalton perform solo, with a duo, with a trio, and with a full band, I really love how he fits with a band like Secret Sound. When he takes lead vocals, he's got room to be the front man we all know he can be. When Kevin handles lead vocals, it offers him the opportunity to stretch himself on harmonica without the need to rush back with the vocals. And Eric Safka on keyboard really gets a chance to groove non-stop with these tunes. Seeing them again you remember just how many great musicians were in the band. That's why the band became so popular, the talent was obvious. And judging by this set, the talent is still there. The question is whether or not the desire to see where this band can go is still there.

It's funny thinking back, but three of the acts on the bill played rather significant roles in my music journalism career. I largely credit JPAT for helping me with my first book ("Beyond the Palace") and Val Emmich was the very first cover story of my Upstage Magazine (and always helped out whenever asked). Meanwhile, Rick Barry was the subject of my most quoted, most ridiculed, and most remembered article ever (the one where I said Rick was the next Billy Bragg). The only one missing from the fold was Emily Grove and she inspired me to set up a new series online -- magazine covers and articles that would have run had the magazine continued. So, keep your eye out for "Fake Upstage" and see where things might have gone...



For more by this author, click here






State Theatre New Jersey presents Cirque Dreams Holidaze
(NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ) -- State Theatre New Jersey presents Cirque Dreams Holidaze on Friday, December 7 at 8:00pm, Saturday, December 8 at 2:00pm and 8:00pm, and Sunday, December 9 at 2:00pm. Cirque Dreams Holidaze, a division of Cirque du Soleil, has become a critically acclaimed, state-of-the-art Broadway musical, and a fun-filled, holiday family show. Tickets range from $35-$98.
NJSO presents 2019 Winter Festival, 'Music Speaks'
(NEWARK, NJ) -- A trio of renowned guest artists with distinct musical voices—pianists Emanuel Ax and Daniil Trifonov and soprano Dawn Upshaw—headline the NJSO’s Winter Festival, “Music Speaks,” in January 2019. The Orchestra’s signature artistic event takes place across three weekends, January 10–27, in six New Jersey venues.
RVCC Chorale to Perform Annual Holiday Concert on December 8th
(BRANCHBURG, NJ) --The RVCC Chorale will give its annual holiday concert on Saturday, December 8 at 8:00pm in the Welpe Theatre at Raritan Valley Community College’s Branchburg campus. The program will feature Johann Sebastian Bach’s cantata, Das Neugeborne Kindelein, as well as a cappella pieces from by Sergei Rachmaninov, Zoltan Kodaly and Giuseppe Verdi. The program also will include an audience singalong of traditional carols.
Classic Stones Live! The Complete Rolling Stones Tribute Show Comes To SOPAC
(SOUTH ORANGE, NJ) -- The Rolling Stones, the greatest Blues band of all time, couldn’t make it to SOPAC on their 2018 tour. Instead, the acclaimed tribute band Classic Stones Live! makes an appearance on the SOPAC stage December 15 at 8:00pm for those who like to hear their Rolling Stones hits live.
Tony Trischka Presents "Of a Winter's Night" at the Morristown Unitarian Fellowship
(MORRISTOWN, NJ) -- Of a Winter’s Night is Tony Trischka's acoustic celebration of the holiday season. Based on his CD release of the same name, this concert features Trischka’s considerable melodic inventiveness on a wide variety of seasonal tunes. He turns his inventiveness loose on bluegrass and Americana music for the holidays. This one of a kind concert will take place at the Morristown Unitarian Fellowship on Saturday, December 8 at 7:30pm.


"An Amazing Musical Genius!" Brian Wilson LIVE! at the State Theatre
In the music room in the back of our house, there’s an electric bass and amp, two acoustic guitars, a microphone and PA speakers, several pieces of music recording equipment, and a bookcase filled with books on music, not to mention a slew of assorted music memorabilia. But, perhaps, one of the most highly prized items in the room is hanging directly above the piano next to the college music diplomas.
Jazz Saxophonist Don Braden LIVE! at Toms River’s Grunin Center
It’s a breezy day for a new installment of the Jazz On a Sunday Afternoon concert series at Toms River, NJ’s Grunin Center of the Arts this Sunday Oct. 27, 2018 afternoon. Today’s special 3pm performance is entitled Earth, Wind and Wonder and is presented by jazz saxophonist Don Braden.
Charlie Thomas’ Drifters, The Classics IV, and The Brooklyn Bridge LIVE! at The Strand, Lakewood
The stars are out this Saturday Oct. 26, 2018 evening in Lakewood, NJ for a “Golden Oldies” concert featuring Charlie Thomas’ Drifters, The Classics IV, and The Brooklyn Bridge!
PODCAST: Grammy Winner Terri Lyne Carrington At TD James Moody Jazz Festival
Drummer, leader, and composer Terri Lyne Carrington made history as the first woman to win a Grammy for Best Instrumental Jazz for her album “Money Jungle: Provocative in Blue.” Now, she brings her interpretation of Duke Ellington’s “Money Jungle” to the TD James Moody Jazz Festival at NJPAC on November 11, 2018, as part of a program called “Jazz Vinyl Revisited.” Producer Susan Wallner talks to Carrington about her connections to the jazz greats Clark Terry and Max Roach; her newest project, the Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice; and why she thinks drummers make natural leaders.
Sha Na Na LIVE! at the Newton Theatre
The audience is streaming into the Newton Theatre auditorium in Newton, NJ this Friday, Oct. 19, 2018 for a live concert starring Sha Na Na!










Event calendar
Thursday, Nov 15, 2018


MUSIC

New Politics @ House of Independents, Asbury Park - 8:00pm

THE REPUTATIONS @ The Saint, Asbury Park - 7:30pm

TOTO @ Mayo Performing Arts Center (MPAC), Morristown - 8:00pm


THEATRE

An Actor's Carol @ Cape May Stage, Cape May - 7:30pm

ANNIE, The Musical @ Axelrod Performing Arts Center, Deal Park - 8:00pm

Apples In Winter @ Centenary Stage Company - Kutz Theater of the Lackland Center, Hackettstown - 7:30pm

Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat @ The Levoy Theatre, Millville - 7:30pm

Spring Awakening: The Rock Musical @ Black Box PAC, Teaneck - 8:00pm







DANCE

PARSONS DANCE @ State Theatre New Jersey, New Brunswick - 8:00pm


FILM

Crybaby Matinee: March of the Penguins @ Hopewell Theater, Hopewell - 11:00am

View all events
























New Jersey Stage © 2018 by Wine Time Media, LLC | PO Box 140, Spring Lake, NJ 07762 (732) 280-7625 | info@newjerseystage.com

Images used on this site have been sent to us from publicists, artists, and PR firms.
If there is a problem with the rights to any image, please contact us and we will look into the matter.