New Jersey Stage

BIG NEWS! Here's the latest Issue of NJ Stage Magazine -- Click here

Dirty Projectors Announce New EP, Flight Tower​​​​​​​ The Second of Five EPs The Band Will Release In 2020

originally published: 05/05/2020

Dirty Projectors Announce New EP, Flight Tower​​​​​​​ The Second of Five EPs The Band Will Release In 2020

Dirty Projectors have shared their new single, "Lose Your Love." At a moment when social distancing threatens to collapse into social alienation, Felicia implores us: "Just hold on, let yourself be found!" This is an anthem that invites connection and celebrates our need for one another. 

The song's big, buoyant beats and exuberant instrumentation are a world away from the acoustic meditations of the Windows Open EP. But this is another facet of the same dynamic band: keyboardist-percussionist Felicia Douglass takes the lead, joined in harmony by Maia Friedman and Kristin Slipp, on music written and produced by Dave Longstreth.

On June 26th, Dirty Projectors will release Flight Tower, the next in a sequence of five EPs that will come out in 2020. You read that right: March's Windows Open EP was not a one-off, but the opening feature of a pentahedron of new music the band began in 2019 and is now working to wrap. Each EP will feature a different band member on lead vocals — Maia, Felicia, Kristin & Dave — with everyone trading verses on the fifth and final installment.

On Flight Tower, Felicia is in the captain's chair. Each track is built around her mellifluous alto and empathetic eye, and Felicia and Dave wrote the lyrics together. Longstreth tills the other side of the screen, letting the sonic seeds planted on 2017's Dirty Projectors and 2018's Lamp Lit Prose blossom into something weird and new.

A limited edition deluxe five-record box set compiling the EPs is now available to pre-order HERE.

The article continues after this ad


And a limited quantity of individual 12" vinyl editions of Windows Open and Flight Tower are available for purchase HERE and HERE from the Domino Mart. The 12" vinyl EPs will also be available via your local record store later this summer.

Photo by Jason Frank Rothenberg






The Penguin Rocks © 2020 by Wine Time Media, LLC | PO Box 140, Spring Lake, NJ 07762 (732) 280-7625 |

Images used on this site have been sent to us from publicists, artists, and PR firms.
If there is a problem with the rights to any image, please contact us and we will look into the matter.